Guinness Six Nations: the world's oldest rugby tournament is back

The first significant rugby tournament of 2021 started back on February 6: that's the Six Nations Championship, Europe's top national team competition. England, France, Ireland, Wales, Scotland and Italy will face each other until March 20 searching for the cup.

The Six Nations tournament is always exciting. The very beginning of this years edition is an example: Scotland won a rugby game in England 38 years later! The Scots beat the English in Twickenham 11-6, under heavy rain.


Uncertainty with England and France as favourites

Just three months after Englands's triumph in the 2020 edition, that finished late, on October 31, due to the pandemic restrictions that sports and society, in general, had to face, these teams are once again facing issues around confinements and postponements resulting from the health safety measures put in place to fight the disease in different countries.

The absence of an audience in the stands, players in isolation, and the overall threat that hangs over the matches scheduled for the coming weeks, all due to Covid-19, may very well become the source of many if not all pleasant surprises during the competition - that much was admitted by Ben Morel, the event's Executive Director.

France and England enter the competition as favourites. Punters are placing their bets on the Brits to win the fourth title in six years under Eddie Jones's command, Australian technician known for his practical results.


Tournament schedule

Don't miss out! Here's the 2021 tournament schedule:


1st round

  • February 06, Italy-France, 2:15 PM
  • February 06, England-Scotland, 4:45 PM
  • February 07, Wales-Ireland, 3:00 PM

2nd round

  • February 13, England-Italy, 2:15 PM
  • February 13, Scotland-Wales, 4:45 PM
  • February 14, Ireland-France, 3:00 PM

3rd round

  • February 27, Italy-Ireland, 2:15 PM
  • February 27, Wales-England, 4:45 PM
  • February 28, France-Scotland, 3:00 PM

4th round

  • March 13, Italy-Wales, 2:15 PM
  • March 13, England-France, 4:45 PM
  • March 14, Scotland-Ireland, 3:00 PM

5th round

  • March 20, Scotland-Italy, 2:15 PM
  • March 20, Ireland-England, 4:45 PM
  • March 20, France-Wales, 8:00 PM


The tournament's history

The Guinness Six Nations is the oldest international tournament in the world, going back to the 1882-1883 season. Between 1882 and 1909, the competition was called the Home Nations Championship, with only 4 participants: England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland. France went on to compete starting 1910, making it the Five Nations Championship. The French were excluded after 1931 but returned in 1947. In 2000, Italy was admitted into this select group, which became the current Six Nations Championship, now Guinness Six Nations reflecting the brand's patronage.


The old Portugal-England alliance

In regular years with no pandemics, the England national team usually does a training camp to prepare for the tournament in the Algarve, taking advantage of its beautiful beaches, climate, gastronomy and safety. This year such training camp was not possible, once again because of Covid-19.

The present uncertainty notwithstanding, it's time to rethink your holidays. Consider a trip to the Algarve filled with sporting events, which Move Sports organizes. Do not hesitate to contact us! After all, the whole of Europe and the sports world, in general, is hoping for some relief from the pandemic in the summer! Anyway, it's good to make plans - if anything else, for the sake of our mental health.